Hexagons galore

My little pile of hexagons has been growing steadily. They’ve been a delight to sew – I always enjoy hand stitching in the winter when you can just relax and not think too much about what you’re doing.  The thinking part may have to change a bit now, because I believe I have enough of a hexagon mountain to get going on construction (or was it just that I was so anxious to start putting things together that I couldn’t wait any longer?!) – so I’ve started doing just that.  I made a pile of  ‘flower’ motifs with light/shirty fabric petals and colourful centres. I also made a pile of spare light/shirty single hexagons, and a couple of piles of bright/snazzy hexagons for contrast. As is my usual way of working there is no set plan/pattern, I’m just going with a general size (ahem!) and I’m putting the shapes together as the colours strike me. I’m finding this kind of playing with colour and contrast is even more enjoyable, as each addition has a surprise outcome.

P1080630  P1080632

I really need to put these aside soon because I have a couple of other projects that I need to complete within the next two months. Perhaps I’ll be able to report on those the next time I have an update.  (Joan)

 

Posted on February 9, 2016, in Stitching. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Can’t believe you’ve used some of your treasured batiks for the centres. Must say though, they look great and I can’t wait to see them all together. Well done old thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

