Treasures and Triptych

Well, as promised, I indulged in retail therapy at the Stitching show at the NEC. Part of the pleasure of purchasing is spreading out the treasures afterwards and looking at them as a collection – so feast your eyes at part of the haul:

P1080639Of course, I have no idea what I’m going to do with this, but my goodness it was fun to get and even better to look at!

 

 

 

 

 

In my defence, since the show I haven’t had much chance to think of designs and new work, because I’ve been working on a quilt for the Uttoxeter quilt show (taking place 22-24 April at Uttoxeter race course). I designed the piece as a triptych, and at last it’s finished and ready to send in to the show.

The piece is called ‘Through the woods’ and shows birds at the top of a tree, bluebells and undergrowth beneath the trees, and a hare at the edge of the woods looking in. I have to admit that the design grew out of the dyed fabric, rather than the ‘proper’ way around (where the design is made then the fabric found/made to fulfil the design).  My way of working is usually this way around, and as you can see by my haul of treasures, I get seduced by a piece or collection of fabrics, then my imagination goes into overdrive. I often wish that I could work the ‘proper’ way around, and believe me I’ve tried, but in the end it’s hard to fight your natural instincts!

Anyway, I don’t know whether the final result was worth the brain exercise, but since the exhibits are judged, I’ll get a set of comments back from the show, and they may indicate that I really shouldn’t work my way around, and instead I’ll have to persevere with the ‘proper’ way of working!! See what you think.

through the woods - full

 

through the woods - 1  through the woods - 2  through the woods - 3

 

 

 

Posted on April 7, 2016, in Stitching. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

