Scrap-bag work

Thought I’d better add my latest update, after Marg’s excellent contributions. I’d like to say that I’ve been really busy stitching away, but in truth the sunshine has tempted me outdoors too much lately.  One of the things I love to do is play around with scraps of fabric and ‘stuff’ that I save in my copious scrap-bag. This is something I tend to gravitate to when I’m stuck on something, need new inspiration, or just don’t know what to do next! So of course, when I’d been distracted by hiking and outdoors, this is where I turned to re-motivate myself – and it’s no surprise that what I came up with were two landscapes. Here they are:

scrap-bag 1     scrap-bag 1 close

scrap-bag 2    scrap-bag 2 close

Most of the rest of the time when I’ve sat down with my needle has been spent completing my latest challenge for the FifteenxFifteen group. This month the challenge was Architecture, and my piece is called ‘The architect’s sketchbook’ and I’ll add it to my gallery of 15×15 images (in the tab above).

architecture - jb

Our hiking has been mainly in our usual haunts around the nearby Peak District and we’ve also been away to the Lake District for a lovely family holiday.  So, just to show where I’ve been whilst playing truant from stitching, here are a few of my favourite distractions!

Peak district – wonderful weather:-

IMG_2967 IMG_2987 IMG_2735

Lake district (not such good weather, but lovely anyway) :-

IMG_2882 IMG_2880 IMG_2845

Now – what next!!

(Joan)

 

Posted on August 16, 2016, in Stitching. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like your scrap bag piece…akin as it is to my ‘minis’ — with the exception that you’ve used more hand-stitch and put the piece(s) in a frame, whereas I just mat mine for framing. These sorts of pieces are so much fun, aren’t they? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

