Janet Bolton Workshop

In an earlier post I said I would say more about Janet’s workshop that a friend and I attended in Lampeter, Mid Wales in July.

We both thoroughly enjoyed the slow pace of the day, enjoying the hand stitching of patchwork pictures.  Janet is a lovely, gentle lady with quite a sense of humour, which I think her work portrays.  In preparation for this workshop I had done a piece of work, which was a little ‘workshop’ featured in Janet’s latest book,  ‘Fabric Pictures, A Workshop with Janet Bolton’, see  below.

WIN_20160824_164855

Whilst I really like it, I am conscious of the fact that it is not really ‘my’ work, so I tried to do something more ‘me’ in the workshop, see below

2016-07-29 17.47.57

This piece I do not like, it seems too contrived and hasn’t got that naive quality I associate with Janet’s work.

I have done a few more, trying to find my own style, but I don’t feel happy with them.

AGGRO - WIN_20160821_102633

This is from a drawing I made some while ago and it is all turned applique, a slow stitching method but because of its’ sometimes outlines, I think it is more in keeping. I’ve added the sketchbook page ..

AGGRO - WIN_20160821_103023

I had to do another sketch which simplified the shapes for the turned applique..

AGGRO - WIN_20160821_103042

So, not all our work turns out as we would like, but it is always worthwhile having a go.

Until next time, happy stitching,

Marg

Posted on August 25, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

