Catching Up

You may remember that Joan and I went to a workshop at the end of last year, where we were dying fabrics with Jo Hill and challenged ourselves to produce a piece of work using some of these fabrics.  I managed to make a small cushion from 2 pieces of my fabrics –

aggro-win_20161121_153553

that’s one challenge done and dustred, onto the next…

Our challenge for this year is to produce a small ‘landscape’ every month.  I produced this urban landscape for January

aggro-win_20170221_081336

Just less than A4 and it is layered with different organzas and then some parts cut away.  I’ve used machine and hand stitch. Both Joan and I have featured bottle kilns that were throughout Stoke-on-Trent when the ‘Potteries’ was thriving.

For February, something similar

aggro-win_20170221_081416

I’ve used patterned, commerical and hand printed fabrics on this one, but prefer the January piece really.  Intend to continue on the layering of fabrics but I need to remember just how many layers I have made.  The ‘kiln’ second from the right only has the one layer left and so is a little flimsy.

I’ve made a start on the March piece, so I’m getting on track now.

To finish, this is a photo of our snowdrops in the back garden and I hope it helps to cheer up those of you who are as fed up of this weather as much as I am.

aggro-win_20170221_123935

Bye for now,

Marg

 

 

 

 

Posted on March 5, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

