May’s challenge

Continuing with our challenge to produce a monthly urban landscape, I thought I’d share the one I completed for the month of April. The reason I’m not sharing May’s effort? – yes, you’ve guessed it, I haven’t done it yet! So this month I’ll be needing to make two urban pieces, because I’m enjoying this challenge, so I don’t want to give up on it.

 I called this one “There were potbanks among the houses” – and it reflects the fact that in the not-too-distant past there were indeed streets of terraced houses with potteries at their ends. At one time, the landscape of this area was dominated by bottle ovens, and of course workers lived cheek-by-jowl with their places of work.

This piece was created by printing calico with a commercial stamp depicting little houses. The shape of the bottle oven was cut from dyed kitchen paper, and the whole piece then overlaid with transfer printed organza. I hand-stitched at random some of the house shapes, and again added little curtain and window details to some of the houses. I added a few impressions of cobbled streets with running stitch.

 This close-up may show a little more of the detail.

We’ve had a bit of excitement in our little world over the past few weeks, when we participated in a textile fair at a local gallery. After a bit of frenzied preparation, where we found pieces we’d forgotten or fell out of love with, and pieces that we’ve produced recently, we eventually felt that we had a nice mixture of work to show. We used some of it to stock a little stall, and other pieces were wall-hung as part of a larger exhibition. As well as receiving many lovely comments, we sold a few small pieces, and Margaret also sold one of her larger ones.  All in all a real confidence booster.

My latest piece for the ‘Fifteen by Fifteen’ group has also been completed and was part of the reveal which as posted online yesterday. We are currently working a series of pieces based on a single theme, my theme being seed heads. This time I have based the piece on Nigella seed heads (also known as Love-in-a-Mist). see what you think:

close up view:

I’ve added this one to my ‘Fifteen’ gallery page in the tabs above, and you can view the whole group’s pieces at https://fifteenquilts.com/

Now to get on with two months’ worth  of our urban challenge.

Joan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on June 2, 2017, in Stitching. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

