Now for May’s challenge

Well now I at last have my May version  of our ‘urban’ challenge, even if it’s almost a month late! This is entitled “The old and the new”, and is inspired by the sweeping away of old fashioned terraced housing and disused buildings, to make way for high rise housing. Whilst the new housing may be more efficient than the older version, I find them impersonal and sterile, compared to the friendly neighbourly feel of the older type of housing.

Close up views:

   

Now all I need to do is to design and work my next urban challenge piece, and since it should be ready for the end of June, it looks as though it’s going to be late again!! I think I need to snap a few photos around  town to get a bit more inspiration, and I’m hoping that not one but two pieces will spring from my brain, so that July’s piece will also materialise. (Springing into action isn’t really my brain’s best feature!).

I thought I’d also share my latest piece for the ‘Fifteen by Fifteen’ group. You may recall that we’re producing work in which follows a single theme to produce a series, and that my theme is seed heads.

 

This piece is based on Nigella seed heads (also known as Love-in-a-mist). For this one I tried to use flimsy threads and delicate stitching to create a misty feel (you may be able  to see this is the close-up view). For a change, I actually have an idea for my next piece, and have started work on it, so maybe I won’t be rushing to finish near the deadline.

Here’s hoping that I’m a bit more productive in the next few weeks. (Joan)

 

 

 

 

Posted on June 28, 2017, in Stitching. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

